

MINUTES
BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING
237 W. Kellogg Road, Bellingham
Laidlaw 143
Wednesday, March 13, 2024
2:00 p.m.

◆ CALL TO ORDER Chair Teresa Taylor officially called the Board of Trustees meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. Present in addition to the chair were trustees Jeff Fairchild, John Pedlow, Rebecca Johnson, and Wendy Bohlke, constituting a quorum. Others present included President Hiyane-Brown; Nate Langstraat, Vice President for Administrative Services; Steven Thomas, Vice President for Instruction; Kerri Holferty, Interim Vice President of Student Services; Julianna deHaan Rice, Assistant Attorney General; and Rafeeka Kloke, Executive Director for the Office of the President.

Chair Taylor began with a land acknowledgment to recognize and pay respect to the Coast Salish Peoples as traditional stewards of this land and the enduring relationship that exists between Indigenous Peoples and their traditional territories.

### **ACTION TO ACCEPT AGENDA**

- → Trustee Johnson moved to accept the agenda. It was seconded by Trustee Pedow and the motion was approved.
- ◆ Chair Taylor announced that there is a designated time for public comment on the agenda.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

Consent Agenda

Minutes of February 14, 2024 Board of Trustees Meeting.

Chair Taylor stated: "If there are no objections, item in the consent agenda will be adopted." As there was no objection, this item was adopted.

### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

→ Chair Taylor called for public comment. There was no public comment.

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

→ At 2:08 p.m. the meeting was adjourned for a closed session of the Board for approximately sixty minutes to evaluate the qualifications of an applicant for public employment or to review the performance of a public employee...;

Chair Taylor announced that action was anticipated. Guests included President Kathi Hiyane-Brown, Vice President Steven Thomas, Assistant Attorney General Juliana deHaan Rice, Abby Koehler, Kaatje Kraft, Tyler Honeycutt, William Weber, Mary Haberman, and Ian Stacy.

The Executive Session was adjourned at 3:08 p.m. and the Board reconvened into open session at 3:08 p.m.

### **ACTION ITEM**

# Tenure Considerations

Chair Taylor thanked the probationers and probation review committee members for their extraordinary work.

Trustee Bohlke moved to award tenure to Abby Koehler. It was seconded by Trustee Pedlow and the motion was approved unanimously.

Trustee Fairchild moved to award tenure to Tyler Honeycutt. It was seconded by Trustee Johnson and the motion was approved unanimously.

Trustee Johnson moved to award tenure to Mary Haberman. It was seconded by Trustee Bohlke and the motion was approved unanimously.

### PRESIDENT'S REPORT

- → President Kathi introduced Steven Thomas, Vice President for Instruction, and KayCee Johnson, Executive Director for Human Resources. Both were newly appointed to their positions.
- → President Kathi thanked Tresha Dutton, Communication Faculty and Rotarian of Bellingham Bay Rotary Club, for her work on an all-club food pantry event for WCC.
- NCyTE recently met with the National Visiting Committee and received positive feedback from the Committee on its work. The Committee was impressed with their work in preparing cybersecurity professionals for teaching and the 3,000 new faculty connections they have made.

- → President Kathi, Kelly Kester, Director for International Programs; and Ward Naf, Director for Information Technology, met with 15 mayors and superintendents in Okinawa, Japan to sign a Memorandum of Understanding for study aboard. They also met with the Governor of Okinawa. A mall delegation of mayors will be visiting Bellingham at the end of April.
- → The Supplemental Budget was released which included earmarks for several colleges, for example, Olympic College received funding to hire program directors and Edmonds Community College received funding for veteran services. President Kathi requested a call with Paul Francis, Executive Director for the State Board to discuss this. The Board asked President Kathi to convey their concerns about the special earmarks for selected colleges.

#### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

→ At 3:55 p.m. the meeting was adjourned for a closed session of the Board for approximately thirty minutes as provided in RCW 42.31.110, to discuss collective bargaining and an Executive Session immediately after the closed session... to evaluate the qualifications of an applicant for public employment or to review the performance of a public employee...; and to discuss with legal counsel representing the agency matters relating to litigation or legal risks of a proposed action or current practice the agency has identified when public discussion of the litigation or legal risks is likely to result in an adverse legal or financial consequence to the agency...

Chair Taylor announced that action was not anticipated. Guests included President Kathi Hiyane-Brown, Vice Presidents Nate Langstraat and Steven Thomas, Executive Director Rafeeka Kloke, and Assistant Attorney General Juliana deHaan Rice.

The Executive Session was adjourned at 4:45 p.m. and the Board reconvened into an open session at 4:45 p.m.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Tama N. Tsyla	4/10/2024
Chair of the Board	Date
Kartui Imjanel	4/10/2024
President and Secretary of the Board	 Date

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:45 p.m.