

MINUTES BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING Laidlaw Center Board Room Wednesday, March 13, 2019 2:00 p.m.

CALL TO ORDER Chair John Pedlow officially called the Board of Trustees meeting to order at 1:03 p.m. Present in addition to the chair were trustees Steve Adelstein, Wendy Bohlke, Rebecca Johnson, and Teresa Taylor constituting a quorum. Others present included President Kathi Hiyane-Brown; Ed Harri, Vice President for Instruction; Nate Langstraat, Vice President for Administrative Services; Luca Lewis, Vice President for Student Services; Melissa Nelson, Assistant Attorney General; and Rafeeka Kloke, Special Assistant to the President.

ACTION TO ACCEPT AGENDA

- Trustee Johnson moved to accept the agenda. It was seconded by Trustee Adelstein and the motion was approved.
- Chair Pedlow announced that there is a designated time for public comment on the agenda.

CONSENT AGENDA

🜒 Consent Agenda

a. Minutes of the February 6, 2019 Board of Trustees Meeting and the February 28, 2019 Board of Trustees Retreat (Attachment A)

Chair Pedlow stated: "If there are no objections, this item will be adopted." As there were no objections, **this item was adopted**.

INTRODUCTION OF ALL WASHINGTON ACADEMIC TEAM STUDENT

President Kathi introduced Alejandra Hobi, one of two WCC student nominees for WCC's 2018-19 All USA Academic Team. Alejandra is enrolled in the Visual Communications program at WCC. She is the mother of two young girls, works in the Learning Center, serves as the ASWCC director of club events, and is co-vice president of the Alderwood PTA—all while maintaining a 4.0 GPA. Her career goal is to work in graphic design, specializing in publishing layout, and to use her bilingual skills in the process. She is a member of PTK and was named English department student of the year in 2018.

ACTION ITEM

Proposed Academic Calendars 2020-2022 (first reading, possible action) - Ed Harri, Vice President for Instruction

Trustee Adelstein moved to approve the 2020-2021 and 2021-2022 academic calendars as presented. It was seconded by Trustee Johnson and the motion was approved.

Trustee Adelstein thanked the committee for their work in avoiding scheduling key college events on major religious holidays.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

- At 1:14 p.m. the meeting was adjourned for a closed Executive Session of the Board for approximately three hours to "...review the performance of a public employee..."
- Chair Pedlow announced that action is anticipated. Guest included President Kathi Hiyane-Brown, Vice President Ed Harri, and Assistant Attorney General Melissa Nelson.
- The Executive Session adjourned at 4:15 p.m. and the Board reconvened into open session at p.m.

ACTION ITEM

Tenure Considerations

Chair Pedlow commented that it is a major honor and responsibility of a trustee to review and award tenure to faculty members.

- Chair Pedlow moved to award tenure to Brian Cope. The motion was seconded by Trustee Adelstein and the motion was approved unanimously.
- Trustee Adelstein moved to award tenure to Kim Doyle. The motion was seconded by Trustee Taylor and the motion was approved unanimously.
- Trustee Taylor moved to award tenure to Melanie Zabel. The motion was seconded by Trustee Johnson and the motion was approved unanimously.
- Trustee Johnson moved to award tenure to Ryan Parsons. The motion was seconded by Trustee Bohlke and the motion was approved unanimously.
- Trustee Bohlke moved to award tenure to Eric Davishahl. The motion was seconded by Trustee Johnson and the motion was approved unanimously.
- Trustee Johnson moved to award tenure to Christy Saunders. The motion was seconded by Trustee Taylor and the motion was approved unanimously.
- Trustee Taylor moved to award tenure to Kate Baker. The motion was seconded by Trustee Adelstein and the motion was approved unanimously.
- Trustee Adelstein moved to award tenure to Mei Luu. The motion was seconded by Chair

Pedlow and the motion was approved unanimously.

• Chair Pedlow moved to award tenure to Justin Martin. The motion was seconded by Trustee Bohlke and the motion was approved unanimously.

BREAK

- The meeting was adjourned for a break at 4:19 p.m.
- The meeting reconvened into open session at 4:45 p.m.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT

- President Kathi shared an accreditation pamphlet with the board.
- President Kathi made the following announcements:
 - The Coast Salish Dance performance is scheduled for March 15 and 16, 2019 at 7 pm in Heiner Theater.
 - Representative Sharon Shewmake is hosting a town hall at WCC on March 23, 2019 at 1 pm.
 - Senator Doug Ericksen and Representative Luanne Van Werven are hosting a town hall at Nooksack Valley Middle School on March 16, 2019 at 1 pm.

REPORT

ASWCC – Mason Green, President ASWCC Executive Board is in the process of preparing the 2019-2020 S & A Budget.

DISCUSSION/ITEMS OF THE BOARD

Chair Pedlow announced that the College has nominated Tim Douglas for the ACT Trustee Leadership Award.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Chair Pedlow called for public comment. There was none.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:55 p.m.

Chair of the Board

Kactri Imane

President and Secretary of the Board

<u>5 |8 | 19</u> Date Date

<u>5</u> Date

WHATCOM COMMUNITY COLLEGE Board of Trustees Meeting March 13, 2019 Page 4 of 4