

# MINUTES BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING Virtual Meeting via Zoom Wednesday, March 16, 2022 2:00 p.m.

→ CALL TO ORDER Chair Rebecca Johnson officially called the Board of Trustees meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. Present in addition to the chair were trustees Wendy Bohlke, Steve Adelstein, John Pedlow, and Teresa Taylor, constituting a quorum. Others present included President Hiyane-Brown; Nate Langstraat, Vice President for Administrative Services; Darlene Snider, Interim Dean for Workforce Education; Luca Lewis, Vice President for Student Services; Terri Thayer, Interim College Equity Officer; Kerena Higgins, Assistant Attorney General; and Rafeeka Kloke, Special Assistant to the President.

#### **ACTION TO ACCEPT AGENDA**

- → Trustee Pedlow moved to accept the agenda. It was seconded by Trustee Bohlke and the motion was approved.
- ◆ Chair Johnson announced that there is a designated time for public comment on the agenda.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

Consent Agenda

Minutes of the February 16, 2022 Board of Trustees meeting and March 8, 2022 Board of Trustees Retreat.

Chair Johnson stated: "If there are no objections, items in the consent agenda will be adopted." As there were no objections, these items were adopted.

## **PUBLIC COMMENT**

- → Chair Johnson called for public comment. She announced a 15-minute public comment period with 2 minutes allocated to each person.
- There was no public comment.

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

→ At 2:05 p.m. the meeting was adjourned for a closed Executive Session of the Board to approximately 3:40 pm to evaluate the qualifications of an applicant for public employment... or to review the performance of a public employee...

Chair Johnson announced that action was anticipated. Guests included President Kathi Hiyane-Brown, Assistant Attorney General Kerena Higgins and tenure probationers and probation committee chairs.

The Executive Session adjourned at m. and the Board reconvened into open session at 3:40 p.m.

## **ACTION ITEMS**

#### Tenure Considerations

Chair Johnson thanked the probationer and probation review committee members for their extraordinary work. She said she is proud to serve as a trustee at an institution with such talented faculty. She was pleased to the emphasis on professional development at WCC.

- Trustee Bohlke moved to award tenure to Brenda Henoch. It was seconded by Trustee Pedlow and the motion was approved unanimously.
- → Trustee Pedlow moved to award tenure to Dawn Gallardo. It was seconded by Trustee Adelstein and the motion was approved unanimously.
- → Trustee Pedlow moved to award tenure to Erin Graham. It was seconded by Trustee Taylor and the motion was approved unanimously.
- → Trustee Taylor moved to award tenure to Gail Rea. It was seconded by Trustee Bohlke and the motion was approved unanimously.
- Trustee Adelstein moved to award tenure to Pat Burnett. It was seconded by Trustee Taylor and the motion was approved unanimously.
- → Trustee Adelstein moved to award tenure to Seth Greendale. It was seconded by Trustee Pedlow and the motion was approved unanimously.

# **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

→ At 3:48 p.m. the meeting was adjourned for a closed Executive Session of the Board to approximately twenty minutes to ...as provided in RCW 42.30.110 and 42.30.140 (4)(a), to discuss collective bargaining... and ... to discuss with legal counsel representing the agency matters relating to Litigation or legal risks of a proposed action or current practice that the agency has identified when public discussion of the litigation.

Chair Johnson announced that action was not anticipated. Guests included President Kathi Hiyane-Brown, Vice President Nate Langstraat, and Assistant Attorney General Kerena Higgins.

The Executive Session was extended for an additional twenty minutes.

The Executive Session adjourned at m. and the Board reconvened into open session at 4:18 p.m.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

٠.	There heing no	further husiness	the meeting was	adiourned	at 4.18 n m
•	There being no	Turtiler business,	the meeting was	aujourneu	at 4.10 p.iii

Rungh	4/13/2022	
Chair of the Board		
Kartri Myäneh	4/13/2022	
President and Secretary of the Board	 Date	